Subrahmanya Shashti celebrated with fervour

Subrahmanya Shashti was celebrated with fervor all over Kodagu on November 24th. Temples swelled with devotees.

A Ratotsav was held at Kudige and hundreds of devotees took part in the procession carrying the idol of Lord Subramanya. Annandan was done to about twenty thousand gathering.

Devotees thronged Byrambada Subramanya temple near Murnad and took part in the day long poojas. The administration had made arrangements to serve Prasad to hundreds of devotees. People come here with vows and take the blessings of the Lord. Hundreds of beggars lined up on the pathway to temple and collected alms. Devotees take vow to give rice and money as alms to beggars during the festival.

Colourful teppotsava was held at the decades old Onkareshwara temple lake at Madikeri at night. People queued up since morning to perform pooja at the temple since morning. Aiyappa temple here, at Virajpet and Subramanya temples at various places held special poojas.

Police had made security arrangements and no untoward incidents took place.


Move to convert Gonicoppal as TP

A resolution was passed in the gram Sabha held at Gonicoppal yesterday to urge the government to convert Gonicoppal into town panchayath from the status of gram panchayath.

People who had gathered spoke in support of it. Members suggested that they shall include couple of villages into the fold of Gonicoppal to meet the requirement of population for the conversion.

Meanwhile the food assistant Rajanna was picketed by members as he has failed to change the APL card wrongly issued to estate workers instead of BPL card. He was called to the meeting as people objected to his absence and was picketed till he promised to rectify the error. He said that a meeting would be organized in the presence of the tahasildar to tackle the issue.

The meeting was held under the chairmanship of president M.S.Habibunnisa. Vice president prakash and other members were present.


SANGAM TROPHY Football tournament From 28TH

Sangam Trophy

The 16th year invitation Sangam football trophy would begin at maragodu from this 28th.

President of the Sangam Youth association, Kenjana Ranju told that the Trophy is jointly organized by the Nehru Yuva Kendra, Youth services and sports department, Taluk Yuva Okkuta and Gram Panchayath, Maragodu.

The tournament would be held for two days and teams from all over Kodagu will participate. About seventeen teams have registered their names to play


Two from KODAGU get ‘EKALAVYA’

Two hockey players from Kodagu are among the thirty achievers who will receive Ekalavya Award from the government.

Two hockey players from Somwarpet Taluk, Vikramkanth and Hariprasad will receive the award. Both of them are representing Indian team and have etched a niche. The awardees will receive a cash prize of rupees fifty thousand each apart from a bronze statue of Ekalavya, outfit and certificate.

Hariprasads father is a farmer at Gowdalli near Somwarpet. Vikramkanth is the son of a customs officer Lakshmikanth at Somwarpet.


DC directs KRDCL to speed up Sampaje-Kushalnagar road work

Deputy Commissioner Ashwathanarayana Gowda directed the Karnataka Road Development Corporation Limited (KRDCL) officials to expedite the road development work on Sampaje – Kushalnagar stretch. 

Presiding over a Road Safety Committee meet held at the Kotehale Vidhana Sabhangana here, he said that the road between Sampaje and Kushalnagar has been completely damaged. Since the road development work will be completed only in 2011, temporary arrangements should be made by filling potholes for the convenience of vehicle users, he added.

KRDCL officials brought to the notice that though the district administration had banned the movement of trucks carrying more than 20 tonnes on Kushalnagar-Sampaje route, the order has not been implemented properly. Officials pointed out that the road development work is being affected due to the movement of heavy vehicles on the route.

Briefing about the progress of the work, KRDCL official said that the road stretch between Kushalnagar and Suntikoppa will be completed by January, 2010.

Since the road between Suntikoppa and Madikeri is narrow and has many curves, it is very difficult to allow traffic movement while work is in progress. Hence, all vehicles from Suntikoppa to Madikeri should be diverted through Chittalli, Siddapura and Madapura routes.

Officials said that a proposal in this regard will be submitted soon. DC said that a decision will be taken on the matter after studying all possibilities.  DC requested BSNL and other telecom network operators to co-operate by shifting their cables on the route. Gowda directed the Forest Department officials to clear all blockades by felling trees on the stretch.

Talking about the road concreting work on Major Muthanna Circle – Private Bus Stand stretch, Town Municipality commissioner Shrikanth Rao said that the contractors were given 45 days time to complete the work. However, the work was delayed due to rain, he said adding that the works is expected to finish in another 15 days.

Zilla panchayat chief executive officer Mirza Akbarulla, additional DC Chandregowda, RTO Habibulla and DySP Prakash were present.

Morarji Desai residential school sought

Kushalnagar:  ZP Member H S Ashok has urged the government to provide Morarji Desai Residential School in Hebbale area, where there are large number of agriculture workers and economically backward people. 

Inaugurating the newly built classroom at Thorenoor Government Higher Primary School, under Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan at a cost of Rs 3.80 lakh on Thursday, he said that drinking water facilities and levelling of the playground for the school will be done by Zilla Panchayat at the earliest.

Taluk Block Education Officer B K Shivanna said that parents should strive to provide quality education to their children.
He said that parents should visit the school frequently and get to know about the academic progress of their child.

SDMC President T L Somashekar presided over the programme. Gram Panchayat President Vedavathi, former president Kanthamani, Members T G Harish, Shanthi, Thangamma, Lakshmikrishna Gowda, Primary School Teachers Association District President S A Yogish, Taluk Association President K B Prakash and others were present.