T John wins Council polls

Former Minister T John won the MLC polls to local bodies constituencies in Kodagu by defeating BJP’s S G Medappa with a margin of 278 votes. 

T John being taken out in a procession after the declaration of the MLC election results.  dh photo

In fact, Kodagu was considered as BJP’s forte. However, the internal squabble which broke out soon after giving ticket to S G Medappa helped in the victory of Congress-JD(S) candidate. Of 1,374 votes, John could secure as many as  795 votes. S G Medappa could get 517 while independent candidate Kudiyara Muthappa could fetch only 10 votes.

About 52 were found invalid. From the beginning of the counting, T John was ahead of BJP candidate. S G Medappa had defeated Congress candidate Mittu Changappa in MLC by election held one year ago. However, this time, S G Medappa could not fetch expected votes. The internal squabble had not subsided. Owing to the direction of party High Commanad BJP rebel candidates had withdrawn their nominations. However, they did not work for the victory of their candidate.

In the first round, Congress could get 114 (BJP—77), second round—Cong- 106, BJP- 83, third round—Cong-131, BJP-64, fourth round—Congress-120, BJP-69, fifth round—Congress 108, BJP-82, sixth round—Congress-124, BJP-72, seventh round—Congress-92, BJP-70.

”We had pinned lot of hopes in Kodagu and Chikmagalur districts. We should have won in these two districts. Forget about the rest,” this was the first reaction of CM B S Yeddyurappa on television, after the council results were out.

Devt of Kodagu

Speaking to presspersons, T John said that he will work for the development of Kodagu.

He said: “I will make a honest attempt for the development of Kodagu. Congress-JD(S) leaders and workers have worked for my victory.”
To a query on allegations that Congress won due to money power, he said “there is no need to heed to such allegations. As we were into alliance with JD(S), I had expected my victory from the beginning.”

As soon as the results were announced, Congress-JD(S) party workers started celebrating by shouting slogans and took out a procession in the mainstreets. They even burst crackers during the procession and observed Vijayotsava.

Former minister M M Nanaiah, Suma Vasanth, Mittu Changappa, Veena Acchaiah, K P Chnadrakala, T P Ramesh and others were present.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: