Nanda Kumar wins Madikeri CMC presidency unopposed

The winners take it all: Nanda Kumar (right) and Vasanta (third from right) who were elected as the president and vice-president of the Madikeri CMC on Saturday Madikeri MLA MP Appachu Ranjan (left) is seen

Madikeri: Curtains came down on the controversy surrounding elections to the posts of president and the vice-president of the Madikeri City Municipal Council (CMC) with H.M. Nanda Kumar, backed by the BJP, getting elected as president and Vasanta of the BJP as vice-president here on Saturday. Both were elected unopposed. However, seven Congress members and an independent walked out of the meeting shouting slogans against the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Government and Election Officer M.R. Ravi.

They alleged that Mr. Ravi had played into the hands of the BJP and postponed the elections which were scheduled first on December 22 and again on January 10. Mr. Kumar, who was a Congress member earlier, moved to the BJP camp recently. The post of the president was reserved for the Scheduled Castes category.

Mr. Ravi said that only Mr. Kumar had filed the nomination papers for the post of President. Mr. Kumar was declared the winner unopposed after the time for withdrawal of nomination papers concluded in the morning.

T.U. Mayamma of the Congress had filed papers for the post of vice-president but she withdrew from the contest. Mr. Ravi declared Ms. Vasantha as elected unanimously. The post was reserved for the general (woman) category. Of the 35 voters, eight members — seven Congress and one independent — walked out while 24 members were present during the elections.

Mysore MP A.H. Vishwanath, Congress MLC T. John and JD (S) MLC M.C. Nanaiah were absent. CMC Commissioner Srikanth Rao was present.

All the 13 BJP councillors, three independents who supported the BJP, one Janata Dal (Secular) member, Ashraf of the Congress, K.G. Harish, apart from Mr. Kumar and Madikeri MLA M.P. Appachu Ranjan, signed the register approving the name of Mr. Kumar and Ms. Vasanta.

K.T. Baby Mathew, an independent, and Chitra Devaraj of the Samajwadi Party, were present. Ashrafunneesa of the JD(S) and Khateeja, a BSP councillor, were present.

Mr. Ranjan, Mr. Srikanth Rao and the former CMC president P.D. Ponnappa garlanded the winners and congratulated them. Mr. Ponnappa had done a good job during his tenure and Mr. Kumar would continue the same, Mr. Ranjan said.

Mr. Kumar said he would live up to the expectations of the citizens and continue to work for the betterment of the civic amenities, including drinking water facility, sanitation, roads and construction of private bus stands. Ms. Vasanta sought the cooperation of the councillors.

 -The Hindu

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: