Thimmaiah wins fastest rider award

Kushalnagar’s Den Thimmaiah won the fastest rider award for the fourth consecutive year at the Jaycee Autocross 2010 track rally. 

Last year’s champion, Shahabhashkhan of Mysore won the championship in the two-wheeler category.  Ponnampet Jaycees had organised state-level two-wheeler and four-wheeler open track rally Jaycee Autocross 2010 at Begurkolli.

It was thrilling for the spectators who were cheering for their riders. Barring heat and dust arising from the ground, the competitors were seen rushing in the track.

In two-wheeler Coorg Local open class category, Mohammed Farook of Virajpet won the first place followed by Manikanta of Gonikoppa and Sooraj Mandanna of Maithadi.

In two stroke open class, Shahabhash Khan won first, Mohammed Irfan (II) and R E Rajendra of Shimoga (III). In four-stroke open class, R E Rajendra of Shimoga won first place followed by Imthiyaz Ashraf of Bangalore and K S Rohith of Mysore finishing third. In Indian Open class division, Shahabhashkhan won first place, Mohammed Ashraf won second and Seyyed Idayuthulla won third place. In novice class, Sayyed Idayuthulla won first, Hemanth (II) and Mohammed Farooq (III).

In four-wheeler division Coorg Local Open Class, Den Thimmaiah of Kushalnagar won first place followed by Adithya of Virajpet and S C Ganapathy of Athur.

Adithya won first place R D Patil of Chikmagalur (II) and B P Jauakumar of Besagur (III) in 800 cc category. In 1000 cc to 1,400 cc category, Den Thimmaiah of Kushalnagar won first place. In 1400 cc to 1600 CC division, Sridharan N Arasu won first place, Den Thimmaiah won second place. Den Thimmaiah won first place in Indian Open Class. Best Tuner award was given to Johnson of Mysore.

The rally was flagged off by DySP Annappa Nayak. 


CNC plans rally on March 21 in Gonikoppa

CNC will stage a rally demanding the announcement of Kodava land comprising 45 Kodava Naadu on March 21 at Cauvery College Maidan in Gonikoppa.

N.U. Nachappa, secretary general of the CNC

Addressing a press meet on Friday, CNC President N U Nachappa said Kodava land should be announcved on the lines of Goorkha land of Darjeeling. As per Article 370 and 371 of Constitution, special status should be given to Kodava land.

The Kodavas should be considered as minority tribal community members under Article 340 and 342 and must be provided reservation in education and employment, he added. Nachappa said Kodava language should be included in the eighth schedule of the constitution. A separate University should be started from Kodavas on the lines of Banaras Hindu University, Nalanda and Thakshashila University.

The CNC expressed opposition to the proposed railway connectivity to Kodagu as it will destroy forest and coffee estates. Instead of providing railway connectivity, the government should provide proper road connectivity to Soorlabbi, Garvale. 


To know more about the Codavas/Kodavas please click here