Rise and Fall of the Coorg State – New book released

Rise and Fall of Coorg State

“Rise and Fall of the Coorg State”, a book on Kodagu district, attempting to throw light on the circumstances leading to the “unpopular” merger of the erstwhile Coorg State with the then Mysore State, now Karnataka, in 1956, has hit the stands.

The book deals with the “neglect” of Kodagu by the governments since its amalgamation with Mysore State, a press statement from P.T. Bopanna, who has compiled and edited the book, said here on Thursday.

Mr. Bopanna, a Bangalore-based journalist, says that the book tries to find answers to some of the questions such as why key players, including the then Prime Minister late Jawaharlal Nehru, took such a “short-sighted” decision resulting in the snuffing out of the independent existence of the Coorg by merging it with Mysore State.

The book discusses the growing demand for autonomy for Kodagu, previously statehood, and also suggests the political roadmap for the future of the district, Mr. Bopanna said.

Among the contributors are writer C.P. Belliappa, son of C.M. Poonacha, who was the Chief Minister of the erstwhile Coorg State.

Political scientist Sandeep Shastri has written a chapter on the feasibility of seeking statehood for Kodagu.

C.M. Ramachandra, former Chief of Bureau, The Hindu, Bangalore, who was the Coorg Correspondent of the newspaper in the 1950s when the crucial decision was taken to merge Kodagu with Karnataka, has written the foreword for the book.

The book, published by Rolling Stone Publications, Bangalore, is priced at Rs. 100.

For a list of books written on Coorg please click here

-The Hindu

Samiti says “NO” to autonomous Kodava homeland

Kodagu Janapara Horata Samiti

Kodagu Janapara Horata Samiti

Members of the Kodagu Janapara Horata Samiti staged a demonstration in front of the Deputy Commissioner’s office here on Friday urging the Centre and the State Government not to consider the demand of the Codava National Council (CNC) for an autonomous Kodava homeland.

In a memorandum submitted to Deputy Commissioner K.H. Ashwatha Narayana Gowda, president of the samiti Korakuttira Sara Chengappa said that if the CNC went ahead with its movement for Kodava homeland, other communities living in the district would organise a mass movement against it. There were 18 Kodava-speaking groups apart from Kodagu-Gowdas, Vokkaligas, Veerashaivas, Kurubas, Billavas, Bunts, Christians, Malayalis and others living in Kodagu.

Mr. Chengappa said that the CNC’s move was aimed at creating friction between various communities in Kodagu. Not many Kodavas or Kodava samaja units backed the CNC movement. Kodagu’s merger with the then Mysore State took place as per the will of majority of the people of Kodagu. The CNC leadership had tried in vain to mislead the youth to militancy in the past and changed its demand for Statehood to Kodagu. It was now seeking autonomous Kodava homeland.

The samiti urged the Centre to declare Kodagu as a “hill area” to ensure the development of the district, Mr. Chengappa said.

The Government should release a special package to develop Kodagu. The State Government and the Centre should look into these demands, he said.

Mr. Chengappa said other communities were in majority in Kodagu, excluding the Kodavas. In view of this, the demand for Kodava homeland did not make any sense. Such demands would only increase ill will among various communities which were living peacefully in the district, he added.

The former MLA D.S. Madappa, Paikera Anantaram, Keshavananda, Vishwanath from Kodagu-Gowda Samaja, P.G. Aiyappa from Kodagu Heggade Samaja, Saba Subramani, who is the secretary of the samiti from Kodava-Nayar Samaja, Kudiyara Muthappa from Kudiya Samaja, and Chippi Krishna Kumar from Amma Kodava group were among those present.

Office-bearers of Panika Samaja, Kembatti Samaja, Savita Samaja, Kodagu Vokkaligara Samaja, Madivala Samaja, Golla Samaja, Veerashaiva Samaja, Iri Samaja, Koyava Samaja, Banna Samaja, Kudiya Samaja, Boonepatta Samaja, Kaniya Samaja, Billlava Samaja, Bunta Samaja, and Maliya Samaja have signed the memorandum.

[Source: The Hindu ]